• Tech

    Delete Time Machine Backups of Computers You No Longer Own

    Time Machine is a great way to save your ass when something goes wrong with your Mac. And I know there’s a lot of ass-saving to do when you’ve recommended Macs to every one, like I have. So I force my friends and family to get an external hard drive, at least the same size as the internal hard drive to make Time Machine backups with.

    Now, let’s say you’ve had your Mac for a while and decide to get a new Mac or upgrade your OS a full version number? If you migrate all your settings to the new environment, including your  Computer Name and Hard Drive Name, then no problem. When the computer asks you if you’d like to continue using the external drive for Time Machine backups, go ahead and confirm that. Time Machine should add the new backups to the existing hierarchy of backups.

    But what if you didn’t migrate every setting and you’ve already started making Time Machine backups. What if you realized this 3 months down the road? Most likely, your external hard drive will fill up faster than your internal hard drive because you now have DOUBLE BACKUPS.

    Now, there might be a way to merge backups, but today, we’ll explore deleting the old backups of a computer and hard drive that no longer exists under the same name. Because you probably don’t need both backups of the Applications, Library, or System folder.

    ***UPDATE*** This method may not work with Time Machine backups on an Apple Time Capsule, as each users’ backups are encoded into a SparseImage.

    The safe way to delete files and folders from a Time Machine backup is from within Time Machine using the Gear menu. But you’ve probably noticed that those old backups will not show up when you “Enter” Time Machine. That’s because Time Machine thinks that you’re on a totally different computer and you have no right accessing backups from another computer. Ah, but it IS (was) the same! It’s your computer.

    To “Enter” an Time Machine backup of a computer under a different name. You’ll need to:

  • Uncategorized

    Need an old DVD? Try your local library.

    If you don’t have Netflix or you don’t like streaming videos from Apple or Amazon, then your only choice of watching any movie you want to watch on-demand is through pre-recorded media. It is becoming increasingly difficult to find individual DVDs of older movies, as studios do not reprint more discs of not-so-popular movies.

    Before going to a local mega-box store or looking for it on Amazon, you should try your local library. If it’s not at the one in your district, you could always go to neighboring areas. Libraries have a reciprocal program, where you can borrow books and media from almost any library. Many libraries even let you search their database from the web.

    And you know the best part about it? It’s FREE as long as you return the materials on time. So try your local library for that hard to find DVD! By the way, don’t be a pirate.

    Also, if you replaced some of your DVD collection with Blu-ray discs, be a good guy and donate them to the library.

  • Tech

    Mobile Theme for iPhone

    If you access this site using a high-end mobile device like the iPhone or an Android phone, you will notice that the site is very compact and quite plane. I’ve implemented a mobile theme for this blog so that the articles are easier to find and more readable on mobile devices. For those of you who prefer the giganto-site, there is a link at the bottom of the page for the Desktop size site.

    Also, you will notice that this site has a very prominent ad banner. Depending on how this ad placement performs, I may or may not go back to the full site.

    -out.

  • Automotive

    2008 Porsche Cayenne Aftermarket GPS Navigation and Stereo Install

    In “2008 Porsche Cayenne Turbo Audio Project“, I’ve explored the possibility of installing an aftermarket GPS navigation unit and an aftermarket amp into a Cayenne equipped with the Bose sound system. With some research, I have succeeded in this endeavor.  I have taken some notes and will share it in past tense/suggestion format.

    WARNING!! NO WARRANTIES. NO GUARANTEES. CHANCE OF IRREPARABLE DAMAGE TO VEHICLE AND/OR EQUIPMENT. DANGER OF INJURY OR DEATH. ATTEMPT AT YOUR OWN RISK. 

    I was looking for some information on how the speakers are connected to the Bose amp and found a Japanese site that listed the wire colors.

  • Tech

    Delete All Users from Mac OS X

    If you’re setting up a Mac for a friend or family member, you probably created a single administrator account on the computer to install and update all the software . Now it’s time to hand the computer over to them, but what to do with this dummy account?

    You should delete it. That way, when they turn on their computer for the “first time”, they can be greeted with Apple’s Welcome movie. To do this, you’ll need to boot the Mac in single user mode and follow these directions from Macworld Hints (http://hints.macworld.com/article.php?story=20071030151739791).

    1. Boot into single user mode. Hold Command-s at startup.
    2. Check the filesystem: /sbin/fsck -fy
    3. If no remaining errors, mount the filesystem: /sbin/mount -uw /
    4. Start up directory services:
      launchctl load /System/Library/LaunchDaemons/com.apple.DirectoryServices.plist

      Note that single user mode said to use com.apple.DirectoryServicesLocal.plist, but that didn’t work — this did.

    5. Find what groups the user belongs to: dscl . -list /groups GroupMembership | grep username— repeat for each group except for the user’s own group.
    6. Remove the group corresponding to the username: dscl . delete /groups/username (this may not be necessary — you may get an error that the group doesn’t exist; you can ignore it and go on).
    7. Remove the user account: dscl . delete /users/username
    8. At this point, you may wish to remove or archive the user folder in /Users.
    9. You may wish to remove the .AppleSetupDone file in /var/db to cause the Setup Assistant to run when next booted.
    10. All done? Type reboot to reboot the system or shutdown -h now to shut down the system.