• Office 365
    Tech

    How to change the UI language for Office 365 for Mac OS X when it’s stuck

    THE PROBLEM: I finally took the plunge and subscribed to Office 365. Once installed, I noticed all the User Interface (UI) was in Japanese. There was no setting in each Office applications’ Preferences and also made sure that US English was chosen in OS X’s System Preferences > Language & Region > General. I had used the Japanese setting before, so I made sure to delete that from the list and restart the computer. I even deleted my Japanese input method from the Keyboard Preference pane. To no avail, Word, Excel, and Powerpoint UIs were stuck in Japanese.

    THE CAUSE: If you’re a long time Mac user like me, you have probably migrated an old OS X account from computer to computer – preserving the users’ preferences through many versions of Microsoft Office. And if you’ve worked for a foreign company, you probably have installed a non-native language version of Office once before but uninstalled it since then. Your computer might have been setup by the company IT in a foreign language, then your account was created in English. In scenarios like this, “smart” installers like the one for Office 365 for Mac might picked up the scent of the foreign language files and presented you Word, Excel, and PowerPoint in that foreign language.

    THE SOLUTION: You can fix this by forcing the individual application to re-remember (or forget) it’s UI language.

    1. Open System Preferences > Language & Region > Apps pane
    2. If Word/Excel/Powerpoint is not listed, click the “+” button to add it.
    3. From the dropdown list, choose the language it’s currently showing (in my case, Japanese). Keep System Preferences open.
    4. Open the application, then Quit it.
    5. With the application closed, now choose the language you want (in my case, US English)
    6. When you open the application again, it should be in the language you want it to be in.
    7. One step further: If you’ve chosen the same language as the System’s default language, you may delete the entry from the list using the “-” button.

    This is a much safer solution than to delete the lproj folders from the Contents of the application or executing Terminal commands against the plist files.

  • Fujitsu Scansnap S1500M
    Tech

    Fujitsu ScanSnap S1500M/S1300 vs OS X Catalina

    With the upgrade to OS X Catalina’s 64-bit environment, ScanSnap Manager, the heart and soul of the system is no longer usable. The new 64-bit ScanSnap Home software is not compatible with the older scanners.

    Your choice is to:

    • Junk the old scanner and get a new one (expensive)
    • Use 3rd party 64-bit scanning software like VueScan or ExactScan (clunky)
    • Keep the older 32-bit compatible OS X running until the day you buy a new scanner (dangerous)

    Although choice 3 sounds like a bad idea for security, there is a way to get around this:

    • Load OS X Mojave in a virtual machine (Parallels/Fusion)
    • Designate an old Mac as a scanning station

    If you’re a hoarder holding on to an old ScanSnap, you probably have a end-of-life Mac being used as a dumb station for listening to LIVE Lo-Fi Beats on YouTube. You can designate this machine as a scanning station. You might even have an older printer that still works that you’re not willing to throw away. This Mac will also be your print station! Just remember, this Mac will soon be a security issue, so make sure you don’t leave anything on it.

    Of course, if this doesn’t inspire joy, Marie Kondo it and just get a new scanner.

  • Tech

    Delete last Admin user from OS X [10.6-10.12]

    In “Delete All Users from Mac OS X [10.5]”, we outlined how to boot into Single User Mode and use Terminal commands to delete the last admin user from a Mac running OS X 10.5. The OpenDirectory system has seen some changes since then and the commands have changed too.

    OpenDirectory has gone through some hack job of an update by Apple, and still retains error-check messages that you can safely ignore according to Apple’s own documentation (HT4749):

    When running dscl(1) from Single User mode, you’ll see this message:

    launchctl: Couldn't stat("/System/Library/LaunchDaemons/com.apple.DirectoryServicesLocal.plist"): No such file or directory nothing found to load

    This message can be safely ignored.

    So the procedure is as follows:

    Start your computer into Single User mode by holding Command-S during startup.

    Check the startup disk

    fsck -fy

    Mount the root file system

    mount -uw /

    Launch DirectoryServices

    launchctl load /System/Library/LaunchDaemons/com.apple.opendirectoryd.plist

    Delete the last admin

    dscl . delete /Users/username

    If you’d like to resuscitate the Setup Assistant

    rm -rf /var/db/.AppleSetupDone
  • Tech

    Clear Recent Searches in Safari 4.0.4

    The “Clear recent searches” feature is back in Safari 4.0.4 but Apple did not fix the problem where one could still go through the browser history to look at the search results pages. This is probably because “Clear recent searches” is more of a convenience feature than a privacy feature – so that you can go back and perform the same searches.

    So if you really want to erase your search history for privacy issues, it is recommended that you search through the browser history for the following terms and delete the resulting pages:

    google search client safari